AISD Honors Community Leaders, Students at 28th Annual African American Heritage Celebration
February 9, 2011 - The Austin School District recently honored outstanding African American educators, community leaders, and students at its 28th Annual African American Heritage Celebration, themed Become the Change.
Student honorees included the top African American students from each of Austinís middle and high schools. Special recognition was given to AISDís African American Heritage High School Scholars ó high school seniors who were named among the top African American students in each of their four years in high school. In addition, the winners of the fourth grade African American Heritage Essay and Oratory Contests were announced.  
Community awards were conferred upon seven Austin educators and community leaders who have demonstrated leadership and commitment to community service and the success of all AISD students. Award recipients were:  
  • W. Charles Akins Award: Ashton G. Cumberbatch Jr.
  • Hobart L. Gaines Award: The Honorable Wilhelmina Ruth Delco
  • Darlene Westbrook Leadership in Education Award: Dr. Bergeron Harris
  • AISD Friend of Education Award: The Honorable Kelly R. Evans
  • Spirit of Giving Award: Ava Prater
  • Volunteer Service Award: Kathyrn A. Clark-Stone
  • Educator of the Year Service Award: Sam Watson
At the event held Sunday, February 6, entertainment and inspiration was provided by student choirs and dance groups from Crockett High School. For more information, contact the AISD Department of School, Family and Community Education at 414-0112.